The University of South Alabama Safe Zone program is one aspect of Allies Unlimited's ongoing effort to make the USA campus a safer place for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) students. The purpose is to reduce homophobia and heterosexism on campus in order to make the campus a safer and freer environment for all members of the USA community regardless of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone program seeks to accomplish this purpose through creating a network of LGBTQ allies who are empathic and informed about LGBTQ interests.

USA Safe Zone Resource Manual.pdf USA Safe Zone Resource Manual.pdf
Size : 2540.916 Kb
Type : pdf
USA Safe Zones on Campus List.pdf USA Safe Zones on Campus List.pdf
Size : 146.194 Kb
Type : pdf

Goals of Safe Zone program:

  1. Increase acceptance and affirmation towards LGBTQ students, staff, and faculty on USA's campus. 
  2. Create a positive environment, free of discrimination, prejudice, and harassment for LGBTQ students so that they can succeed on a personal and academic level during their years at USA.

Goals of Safe Zone training:

  1. Help individuals to develop awareness, knowledge, and skills to be an ally through offering support, safety, and confidentiality to LGBTQ students, staff, and faculty.
  2. Aid students to develop the knowledge and skills to speak out for LGBTQ interests in order to help understand the importance of fairness, affirmation, and mutual respect of LTBGQ individuals.
  3. Help individuals develop the knowledge and skills to address discrimination, prejudice, and harassment towards LGBTQ individuals as it occurs on USA's campus.

 After engaging in a Safe Zone training, individuals receive a Safe Zone sticker to display near their office, letting the campus community know that person, and their professional space, is a Safe Zone.

This program is new to USA and was created to develop a clear and connected network of allies and safe zones across campus. Thus, the list below is not an exhaustive list of staff and faculty allies on campus. We recognize the work of other allies through the years to make USA a safer place for LGBTQ students, staff, and faculty, and encourage those allies to dialogue with the Advisory Board to strengthen the Safe Zone program

Safe Zone Training Participants 2011-2012

Jessica Barnes, Housing and Residential Life
jrbarnes@usouthal.edu; 460-7479
Epsilon I Area Office
 

Tre Cole, Housing and Residential Life
tdc1001@jaguar1.usouthal.edu; 460-6378
Gamma 2, Room 110

Peggy Delmas, Assistant Professor
pdelmas@usouthal.edu; 380-2889
College of Education; UCOM Room 3360

Paula Duke, Director University Programs
pkduke@usouthal.edu; 460-7144
Academic Support Center, Room 1369

Joe Farmer, Assistant Professor
jfarmer@usouthal.edu; 445-9466
Nursing, HAHN Room 3060

Robert Gray, Mgr. Faculty Development Services
rmgray@usouthal.edu; 380-2616
Innovation in Learning Center; UCOM Room 3412

Robert B. Hanks, Assoc. Director Counseling & Testing
rbhanks@usouthal.edu
Counseling & Testing Services; 460-7980


Nancy Howell, Director Academic Advising
nhowell@usouthal.edu; 461-1705
Arts & Sciences Advising Center; AHS Room 349

Monica Jeanfreau, Housing and Residential Life
maj1001@jaguar1.usouthal.edu; 461-1705
Beta 4; Room 202

Karen Jordan, Faculty Instructor
kjordan@usouthal.edu; 414-8028
Earth Sciences Department; ILB Room 207

Jennifer Langhinrichsen-Rohling, Professor
jlr@usouthal.edu; 460-7169
Psychological Clinic, UCOM 2000
 

Steve McClellan, Staff  
smcclellan@usouthal.edu; 445-8415
Cancer Research Institute, MCI 3085

M. Margaret O'Brien, M.D., Asst. Prof. Pathology Dept
mobrien@usouthal.edu; 460-7174
College of Medicine, MSB 1005; Mastin 202

Dayna Pratt, Housing & Residential Life

Nicole Schultz, Staff
nschultz@usouthal.edu; 460-6684
Career Services; Meisler Hall Suite 2100

Heather Sprinkle, Coordinator Jaguar Productions
hsprinkle@usouthal.edu; 460-7144
Academic Support Center, Room 1369

Jessica Weaver, Career Services Coordinator
jaweaver@usouthal.edu; 460-6687
Career Services, Meisler Hall Suite 2100

Melissa Smith, School of Computing
mesmith@southalabama.edu, 460-6779
Shelby 1103

James Bridgeforth, Associate Director Housing
jbridgeforth@usouthal.edu; 460-6185
Delta Commons, Room 100

Carl Cunningham, Dir. Multicultural Student Affairs
ccunningham@usouthal.edu; 460-6895
Student Affairs, Room 1345

 Darleen Dempster, Counselor and Adjunct Faculty
ddempster@usouthal.edu; 460-7051
Counseling and Testing Services, Room 329

Robbie Durr, Area Coordinator Univ. Housing
rdurr@usouthal.edu; 460-7870
Housing, Epsilon I / Area Office

Petre Freeman, Staff
plf1101@jaguar1.usouthal.edu
Office of Multicultural Affairs

William Kevin Green, M.D., Associate Professor
wgreen@usouthal.edu
Internal Medicine; 471-7895

Travis Hardin, Housing and Residential Life
thardin@usouthal.edu; 460-7759
Delta Commons, Room 114

Heather Hoven, Library Technical Assistant
hdhoven@usouthal.edu; 460-7028
Biomedical Library

Robin Jones, Associate Dean of Students
rjones@usouthal.edu; 460-6452
Student Affairs, ASC Room 1345

Amber King, Housing and Residential Life
alking@usouthal.edu; 460-6466
B/G Commons

 Jade Matthews, Area Coordinator
jgmatthews@usouthal.edu; 460-7088
Housing and Residential Life, Stokes 1115

Mike Mitchell, Dean of Students
mmitchell@usouthal.edu; 460-6172
Academic Support Center, Room 1345

Amber Pope, Assistant Professor
alpope@usouthal.edu; 380-2870
Professional Studies; UCOM Room 3858

Sarah Schrenk, Coordinator Fitness Programs
sarahrentz@usouthal.edu; 460-7268
Student Recreation Center, Room 324

Rhonda B. Smith, Assistant Registrar
rhondasmith@usouthal.edu; 460-7180
College of Medicine; MSB 1005

Kelly R. Taylor, Academic Advisor
ktaylor@usouthal.edu; 460-7271
Arts & Sciences Advising Dept, AHS 346

Kendra Wesson, Housing and Residential Life
kwesson@usouthal.edu; 460-6976
Delta Commons, Room 120

Krista Harrell, Associate Dean of Students
kristaharrell@southalabama.edu; 460-6453
Student Center/Dean of Students; ASC 1345

Elliott Kimball, Staff
erkimball@southalabama.edu; 460-7759
Housing; Epsilon 1 Area Office

Rachel Jernigan, Community Director
rjernigan@usouthal.edu; 460-6975
Housing & Resident Life; Stokes Hall, Room 1103

Andrea Wright, Staff
awright@southalabama.edu; 461-1424
Biomedical Library; Room 213

Greg Deckard, Staff
gdeckard@usouthal.edu;380-2889
Education; UCOMM 3660, HPE 1100

Gina Deckard, Staff
ginadeckard@usouthal.edu; 445-9280
Pre-Health Advising; HAHN 4004

Diana Starm, Faculty
dsturm@usouthal.edu; 219-4574(off Campus)
Earth Science Department

Valerie Bryan, Faculty
vbryan@usouthal.edu; 414-8041
Sociology, Anthropology & Social Work; Humanities 13

Jillian Murphy, Staff
Jkm1102@southalabama.edu; 460-7149
USA Psychological Clinic

Joyce Guest, Faculty/Staff
jguest@usouthal.edu; 445-9037
Graduate Medical Education

Safe Zone Program Advisory Committee  

Dr. Amber Pope, Program Coordinator & Asst. Professor, Dept. of Professional Studies

Dr. Darleen Dempster, Counselor & Adjunct Faculty, Counseling & Testing Center

James Bridgeforth, Associate Director of Student Housing

Krista Harrell, Associate Dean of Students

Dr. Franklin Trimm, Pediatrics Dept., College of Medicine

Dr. Kevin Green, Internal Medicine Dept., College of Medicine

Dr. Martha Jane Brazy, Associate Professor, History Dept. 

This free website was made using Yola.

No HTML skills required. Build your website in minutes.

Go to www.yola.com and sign up today!

Make a free website with Yola